What's the easiest way to peel pearl onions?

Trim the root ends of the onions. Blanch the onions in boiling water for about 30 seconds and then transfer them to a bowl of ice water. Pinch each onion at its stem end, and it should just slip out of its skin.

---

First trim the root ends. Next, blanch the onions in boiling water for about 30 seconds, and then place them in a bowl of ice water. They should be easy to peel after doing this.