What is a sprig of thyme?

It's a small twig of thyme (about the length of an index finger) with the fresh thyme leaves on.

---

Thyme is a small plant with many branches each covered with very small leaves. A sprig of Thyme is one branch. You typically would pick all of the leaves off of a branch, cut them smaller and then add to a recipe or a dressing or sometimes add the entire sprig to a soup, or stew or other recipe.

---

It's a small stem of fresh thyme, a popular herb used in a variety of dishes.