Is there a such thing as a boogie man?

The Bogeyman is a mythical creature used by adults to frighten children into good behaviour. ... The Bogeyman or a somewhat related creature can be found in every culture, and is used for scaring children into good behavior

---

The boogie man is a name or title that can be given to describe someone scary.