How long does it take to run the belmont stakes?

The record time of running the 1 ½ mile race in 2 minutes 24 seconds still stands. The Belmont Stakes is currently contested at 1 ½ miles, or 12 furlongs, making it the longest of the Triple Crown races and typically the longest race that Thoroughbreds who compete in the series will ever run.