What year did people start decorating christmas trees?

16th century-Germany began Christmas tree tradition - devout Christians put decorated trees in their homes. Martin Luther first added lighted candles to a tree. The first record of one in a house in America - 1830s German Pennsylvania. Though they had community trees as early as 1747.