Which scientist established the r. o. y. g. b. i. v. color spectrum?

The color wheel's roots date back to the mid-1600s when Sir Isaac Newton's work with white light led him to the discovery of the visible spectrum of light. Newton observed the way each color of light would bend as it passed through the prism.