Why is it rude to put elbows on the table?

It's considered rude by some people to put your elbows on the table but really, there isn't anything wrong with it. You shouldn't do it at a fancy diner because it takes up space that the people on either side of you are using to eat.

---

Like many etiquette rules, mealtime elbow placement is a holdover from a bygone era. For earlier civilizations, it was a way to prevent outbreaks of violence at the table. But in a casual, familiar setting, it's totally fine to do it every once in a while.