Why do humans have to sleep?

We sleep because it is critical for our health and well-being. We sleep so the brain can reorganize itself. We sleep in order to restore and rejuvenate, to grow muscle, repair tissue, and synthesize hormones.

---

Sleep is important for two main reasons. It helps us repair and restore our organ systems (including our muscles, immune systems, and various other hormones) and it plays a crucial role in memory.