How rare are dollar coins?

The common smaller sized U.S dollar coin, that has been minted since the late 1970's, are produced for circulation and are generally not rare, and can be ordered from most banks at face value. Older Dollars made from silver or gold, dated before 1936, can be more valuable or rare.