What's the most spoken language on earth?

English is the most widely spoken language worldwide, with 1.5 billion speakers. As we become increasingly connected, English has assumed a position of the dominant language of global communication, notably on the internet.

---

English has the most speakers, but Mandarin Chinese has the most native speakers. Two thirds of the people who can speak English speak it as a second language.