What is mediterrean food?

A general term describing the diet habits of the southern countries of Europe and north Africa around Mediterranean Sea.It's based on olive oil,local grown vegetable and dry bean dishes,fish,cheese,plain yoghurt and local fruit,wholemeal bread and pasta,plus small amounts of meat(goat,sheep,poultry)