Why do cats nest?

Wild cats will paw at piles of leaves or tall grass to create a nest for themselves and their young to relax and sleep in. By doing this to the ground they're not only creating a soft nest – similarly to how we fluff pillows – but they're also checking for predators, prey hidden in the foliage.