What's a gypsum stack?

Phosphogypsum is a byproduct of the process used in making fertilizer. The fertilizer industry that produces it piles the byproduct in mountains called gypsum stacks, which have lagoons at their top containing hundreds of millions of gallons of wastewater, which is highly acidic and radioactive.