Why do dogs smile?

A dog smiles to relax the animal or person it is smiling at. Drawing back the lips and ears, squinting the eyes and a lowered tail wag are all signs that the dog has peaceful intentions. They are also submissive gestures dogs make to announce their non-violent mood.