What are the odds of getting a shiny pokemon in pokemon go?

In Pokémon Go, Shiny rates for each Pokémon differ, but according to a December 2020 post from the Pokémon fan website "The Silph Road", the averaged rate for every available Pokémon up to that date is 0.2%

---

The chance of catching a shiny pokemon is about .2 percent. In other words, you will catch one shiny pokemon for every 500 normal ones that you catch.