Did hurricane dorian destroy the bahamas?

Hurricane Dorian struck The Bahamas as a category 5 hurricane, the most negative impacts being in the Northwestern islands of the country. It has caused over 7 billion US dollars in damage and killed 44 people and possibly more. It is one of the worst disasters in the history of The Bahamas.