Which direction is south?

South is the opposite direction from north. in the northern hemisphere, the sun follows an arc across the southern sky. Except in the morning and evening, the south is toward the sun.

---

"direction" is relative. having said this, most maps orient NORTH to the top and SOUTH to the bottom; so in this context, SOUTH is DOWN. In a global context, that would put SOUTH BELOW the equator and NORTH above the equator.