What is emotional liability?

Emotional lability refers to rapid, often exaggerated changes in mood, where strong emotions or feelings occur. Emotional lability is characterized by rapid exaggerated changes in mood. Labile mood symptoms include uncontrollable laughing, excessive crying, heightened irritability, moody temper.