What's the hottest pepper known to man?

The world's hottest pepper is the Carolina Reaper, grown by Ed Currie of the PuckerButt Pepper Company in Fort Mill, South Carolina. Ranked by Guinness World Records as the hottest pepper, it peaks at about 2.2 million Scoville Heat Units, the scale used to rank how spicy peppers are.