What is the biggest earthquake that ever happened?

The 1960 Valdivia earthquake or the Great Chilean earthquake on 22 May 1960 is the most powerful earthquake ever recorded. Various studies have placed it at 9.4–9.6 on the moment magnitude scale. It occurred in the afternoon (19:11 GMT, 3:11PM local time), and lasted approximately 10 minutes.

---

The largest earthquake ever recorded was the great Chilean earthquake in Chile on May 22, 1960. It registered 9.5 by the United States Geological Survey.