Why are fire engines red?

One theory dates back to the time when fire departments were composed of unpaid volunteers. Back then there was fierce competition between the volunteer brigades of neighboring towns. Red paint was the most expensive color at the time, volunteers used red paint to stand out and as a source of pride.