How long do giraffes carry babies?

Giraffe moms, or cows, are pregnant for about 15 months. This long gestation period is necessary to allow the calves to become highly developed in the safety of their mother's womb. Most newborn calves weigh in at around 220 pounds and stand over six feet tall.