Are ticks red?

No known species of naturally occurring red tick exists. But ticks can sometimes appear to be red if they're in the act of feeding. However, the spider mite, red velvet mite, clover mite and the larvae of the harvest mite—known colloquially as chiggers—all take various shades of red.