Where did the term john doe come from?

Originally, John Doe was a sham name used to indicate any plaintiff in a legal action to regain property in civil court. Richard Roe was the counterpart, to indicate the defendant. These fake names were used in delicate legal matters in the English court until 1852. Then it was used for unnamed men.