How do you fight sans in undertale?

To progress the fight, the protagonist must keep attacking Sans, as checking reveals that he cannot dodge forever; performing any other action besides FIGHT, including skipping/missing the attacks, does not progress the battle, as his dialogue does not appear or advance.