What's in a liter?

The liter is a non-SI unit of volume, equal to 1000 cubic cms or milliliters, 0.001 cubic meters or 1 cubic decimeter. In imperial units, 1 liter is 0.264 gallons, a little more than a quart. Outside the US, fuel is bought by the liter, but within the US, soda is often bought in 2-liter containers.