Who wrote in the jungle?

The song "The Lion Sleeps Tonight" which begins with the English lyrics "In the jungle, the mighty jungle" was originally written and recorded in Zulu by Solomon Linda in 1939. The Tokens English version, recorded in 1961, became a billboard number one hit in the United States.