What's the world record for longest time staying awake?

Randy Gardner is an American from San Diego, California, who set the record for the longest amount of time a human has gone without sleep. In December 1963/January 1964, 17-year-old Gardner stayed awake for 11 days and 25 minutes, breaking the previous record of 260 hours held by Tom Rounds.