What is a hokage?

Well, for the literal meaning, according to Japanese language, Ho means Fire & Kage means Shadow. That is, Hokage means Fire Shadow. This came out in reference to the village land, The Land of Fire is the body and the Hokage, the shadow.

---

In Naruto, the Hokage is the leader of the Hidden Leaf Village. The Hokage, literally meaning: Fire Shadow, is the Kage of Konohagakure, a title bestowed on the village's leader. The Hokage is generally regarded as the strongest shinobi in the village.