What are ender mites?

Endermites are similar to silverfish, except they are smaller, more cube-like, and purple. An Endermite will occasionally spawn when a player throws an Ender pearl and It will repeatedly attack the player, dealing a small amount of damage per hit. If it is killed, it will drop 3 experience.