Who has the most debt in the world?

As of 2021, Japan has the most debt in relation to Gross Domestic Product (GDP) at 237% equating to 11.8 billion dollars of debt. The United States is the highest overall debt at 21.5 billion dollars or 103.4% of its GDP.