What does yeast mean?

Yeast has a big job to do! Baker’s yeast is used in home and commercial bread baking to leaven dough. It is widely available in these forms: Cream Yeast, Fresh Yeast (also known as wet, cake, crumbled or compressed yeast), Active Dry Yeast and Instant (quick-rising or fast-rising) Yeast.