What is the movie dear john about?

Lasse Hallstrom's "Dear John" tells the heartbreaking story of two lovely young people who fail to find happiness together because they're trapped in an adaptation of a Nicholas Sparks novel.Their romance leads to bittersweet loss that's so softened by the sweet characters that it feels like triumph