Who is the princess royale?

Princess Anne became Princess Royal in 1987. Princess Royal is a style that belongs to one by right and given entirely at the sovereign's discretion, customarily awarded to their eldest daughter. Although purely honorary, it is the highest honour given to a female member of the royal family.