Who liberated south america?

Simón Bolívar, “the Liberator,” helped to free much of South America. He fought in Venezuela and ruled Colombia and Ecuador. He freed Peru, and Bolivia was renamed in his honor. Other freedom fighters included Bernardo O'Higgins and José de San Martín, who fought in Argentina, Chile, and Peru.