Is eggnog supposed to be hot?

Eggnog is made using milk, eggs, sugar, and flavorings, and served with cinnamon or nutmeg. While it is often served chilled, in some cases eggnog is warmed, particularly on cold days (similar to the way mulled wine is served warm).