What's the difference between beer and ale?

Ale is a type of beer. I believe you mean to ask about ales verses lagers. Ale is top fermenting yeast at a higher temperature while lager is bottom fermented. Ales tend to be fruitier in flavor while lagers are more crisp with a bread-like flavor.