What is the difference between steel cut oats and quick oats?

The main differences between steel cut & quick-cook oats is texture. Steel cut oats absorb more liquid than their pre-processed counterparts, but they also maintain their shape. Each oat is still visible after cooking. Quick-cook oats tend to bind together, resulting in a porridge-like consistency.