What kind of movie is where the crawdads sing?

“Where the Crawdads Sing” is a 2022 American mystery thriller, drama film based on the 2018 novel of the same name by Delia Owen. One reviewer writes: “an incredibly gripping murder mystery and romance, with a great twist at the end.”