Why are peaches red?

Enzymes cause ripening responses. Chlorophyll is broken down and sometimes new pigments are made so that the fruit skin changes color from green to red, yellow, or blue. Acids are broken down so that fruits can change from sour to neutral. The degradation of starch by amylase produces sugar.