Is japan a dictatorship?

No. Japan is a Unitary Parliamentary Constitutional Monarchy. It has a constitution, a two-house parliament, a cabinet with executive powers, a Prime Minister who is head of government and an Emperor who is the head of state with ceremonial powers only