What's the difference between prime rib and filet mignon?

Prime rib is perfectly marbled in fat, which gives is a juicy and buttery flavor. A lot of moisture is kept within the meat because it is cooked on the bone. Filet mignon is cut from the cow's tenderloin, which is under the short ribs, in the hindquarters.