How do you get rust off a bike?

Rust is oxidized metal so the process of removal will vary based on the amount of damage. 1000 grit count Wet-Dry sandpapers will remove the lightest layers of rust. For larger, deeper rust grit damage grit counts as low as 80 will be needed. Use higher grits to smooth out the surface to finish.