Who built the second temple in jerusalem?

The second Jerusalem temple was constructed over a long period of time. It was stated under Zerubbel after some of the Jewish exiles were allowed to return home. It was a rather modest structure. Roughly 400 years later King Herod the Great completely refurbished into a magnificent structure.