Where did the phrase easy as pie come from?

“As easy as pie” originated in Australia in the 1920s. It grew from the term “pie on” or “pie at” which means to be very good at something. The root is the Maori word “pai” which means “good”. Hence, if you're good at something it will be as easy as pie.