Who built the first motorcycle?

Gottlieb Daimler is generally credited with building the first motorcycle in 1885 however the first may have been built by Sylvester Roper of Roxbury, Massachusetts in 1867. There is an existing example of a Roper machine, dated 1869 with a charcoal-fired two-cylinder engine driving the rear wheel.