Who is professor elm?

Professor Elm is a character on the Pokémon cartoon show. He is the renowned Pokémon professor of Johto. He lives in New Bark Town with his wife and son in a house south of his laboratory. Professor Elm lets you choose a Chikorita, Cyndaquil, or a Totodile as a starter Pokémon.