Where does the sun not shine?

North of the Arctic Circle, towns like Tromsø, Norway, experience extreme light variation between seasons. During Polar Night, which lasts from November to January, the sun doesn't rise at all. Then days get progressively longer until the Midnight Sun period, from May to July, when it never sets.