What is z. h. u.?

zhu is Wade-Giles romanization chu, ancient Chinese struck half-tube zither, now obsolete. Early forms had five strings that appear to have been struck with a bamboo stick. The instrument was narrow and slightly convex on top, and the strings were passed over bridges at both ends.