Do you keep basil in the refrigerator?

Fresh basil leaves can be kept for up to a week wrapped in a paper towel and sealed in an airtight bag, then refrigerated. However, whole stems of basil keep best when the cut ends are in a jar or vase of water, then kept cool. They may even sprout new roots under humid and sunny conditions.